Vocal Adviser in Residence

  • Chan Siu-kwan
    Vocal Adviser in Residence

    Chan is a notable voice pedagogue and expert in choral music and has extensive performance and teaching experience. At present, she is teaching the voice at the Hong Kong Chinese University, Hong Kong Baptist University, the University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.

    Chan has nourished the talents of many singers who are active on local and overseas performance platforms. Quite a number of her students have become successful music teachers in schools and universities in Hong Kong and abroad. They have in turn trained up many distinguished choirs and excelled at choral competitions.

    Chan regularly receives invitation to conduct vocal lectures, master classes, choral training workshops and seminars for choir conductors. She has also served as adjudicator for various competitions. Invited bodies include the Educational Bureau, the Leisure and Cultural Services Department and Music Office of HKSAR, the Education and Youth Affairs Bureau of Macao, Hong Kong Schools Music and Speech Association, Institut Teknologi Bandung Choir Festival, Bandung Children’s Choir Festival of Indonesia, the Educational Science Research Institute of Shenzhen, St. Catharine’s College, Cambridge in the UK. She was also a member of the preliminary selection committee of the Hong Kong International Operatic Singing Competition 2018.

    Joined The Hong Kong Children’s Choir in 1977, Chan was immediately made a member of the touring choir, visiting Europe, North America and South East Asia, and performing as soloist to critical acclaim. She received a scholarship to study voice under Hong Kong tenor Mak Chi-shing. She graduated with distinctions from the Hong Kong Baptist College, Glasgow University and the Royal Scottish Academy. During her student years, she was awarded many academic and competition prizes. Her voice teachers include the Welsh tenor David Parker, Scottish bass baritone Bill McCue and English soprano Heather Harper.

駐團聲樂顧問

  • 陳少君
    駐團聲樂顧問

    陳氏是香港著名聲樂教育家及合唱專家,有多年舞台演唱及教學經驗。現分別於香港中文大學、香港浸會大學、香港大學和香港演藝學院教授聲樂。

    多年來,陳氏作育英才,培訓出不少活躍於香港及海外音樂舞台的聲樂精英。除此以外,她亦訓練出不少音樂老師,任教於本地及海外的大中小學,他們訓練出來的合唱團演出水平尤其特出,屢屢在比賽中得獎。

    多年來,陳氏作育英才,培訓出不少活躍於香港及海外音樂舞台的聲樂精英。除此以外,她亦訓練出不少音樂老師,任教於本地及海外的大中小學,他們訓練出來的合唱團演出水平尤其特出,屢屢在比賽中得獎。

    陳氏經常被邀主持聲樂講座、聲樂大師班、合唱訓練班、合唱老師指導班及擔任評判。邀請機構包括香港特別行政區教育局、康樂及文化事務署、音樂事務處、澳門教育暨青年局、香港學校音樂節、印尼萬隆科技大學合唱節、萬隆兒童合唱節、深圳教育科學研究院及英國劍橋大學聖凱瑟琳學院等等。她也曾出任為香港國際歌劇聖樂比賽2018初選委員會的成員。

    陳氏1977年加入香港兒童合唱團,即入選出國組別,隨團赴歐、美、加和東南亞各地演出,並擔任獨唱,獲得一致好評。其後獲獎學金隨香港男高音麥志成學習聲樂。陳氏以優等成績畢業於香港浸會學院、格拉斯哥大學及蘇格蘭皇家音樂學院,在學期間獲頒多個聲樂和學術獎項。她的老師包括威爾斯男高音David Parker、蘇格蘭男低音Bill McCue和英國女高音Heather Harper。